Endorsements | Kaplan for Oakland


We are honored to share that Pastor J. Alfred Smith, Sr. is supporting Rebecca Kaplan.  Dr Smith Sr. is Pastor Emeritus of Allen Temple Baptist Church in Oakland, has been repeatedly named as one of the Most Influential by Ebony Magazine. Dr. Smith Sr. is a past national president of the Progressive National Baptist Convention, and has authored several books including Speak Until Justice Wakes.

California Nurses Association

“The California Nurses Association is proud to support Oakland Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan for re-election this November. We have worked together to fight for a safer and healthier community, and we need her voice on the Council.”

— Martha Kuhl, RN at Children’s Hospital Oakland and Treasurer of the California Nurses Association


“We support Rebecca Kaplan for Oakland City Council. We trust her to be a principled champion for workers and residents of the City of Oakland.”

SEIU 1021

sierraclubpac300 Sierra Club Northern Alameda County Executive Committee Member Chris Jackson on the Club’s endorsement stated, “At the Sierra Club, we value an inclusive Oakland that not only preserves its public parks and open space, but also its status as a town that values affordable housing and environmental justice for all of its residents. Rebecca Kaplan has consistently and unapologetically been the environmental community’s champion on a range of issues from fighting for more funding for our city parks, to being a recognized affordable housing leader on the city council. During this unprecedented time, we need Rebecca Kaplan’s leadership at City Hall.”

Aimee Allison, founder of She the People, a national network elevating the power of women of color, has endorsed Rebecca’s re-election to the Oakland City Council At Large position. Aimee is an Oakland resident, and national leader and advocate.  We are thrilled to have her support.

I am also honored to have the support of the following community organizations and civic leaders for my re-election to the citywide seat on the Oakland City Council:

Building & Construction Trades Council of Alameda County, AFL-CIO

California Nurses Association

Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 1021

Sierra Club

League of Conservation Voters East Bay

Oakland Firefighters IAFF Local 55

Alameda Labor Council

Former State Assemblyman Sandre Swanson 

Northern California Carpenters Regional Council

Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance (APALA),   

Sprinkler Fitters Local 483,

Former Mayor Elihu Harris

Vice Mayor Larry Reid

President Pro Tem Dan Kalb

Oakland Council member Sheng Thao (District 4)

Oakland Council member Nikki Fortunato-Bas (District 2) 

Oakland Council member Noel Gallo (District 5) 

Oakland Port Commissioner and LGBTQ+ community leader Michael Colbruno

California Young Democrats National Committee Representative Igor Tregub

and many more